August 25, 2019

Finalists Announced for 4th Judicial District, El Paso County Judgeships

The Fourth Judicial District Nominating Commission has selected six finalists for two vacancies on the Fourth Judicial District bench and three finalists for one vacancy on the El Paso County bench, State Judicial announced on Thursday.

The seven-member Commission recommended Colorado Springs lawyers William Burlingham Bain, Debra Campeau, HayDen William Kane II, Diana Kay May, Michael Paul McHenry, and Regina Marie Walter to Gov. Ritter for his consideration for the two judgeships in the district court.

For the single opening at the El Paso County Court, the Commission recommended Fotios (Fred) Michael Burtzos, Sheilagh Ann McAteer, and Douglas Joseph Miles, All three nominees hail from Colorado Springs.

As proscribed by the Colorado Constitution, the governor has 15 days to select his appointees.

The three new judgeships were authorized by the passage of House Bill 07-1054 (pdf) in 2007, which funded several new positions on district and county court benches in Colorado.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Speak Your Mind