August 20, 2019

Archives for January 3, 2012

Channel Some of Your Creative Energy into the 2012 National Fiction Writing Competition for Physicians and Lawyers

Make it a New Year’s resolution to set aside some time in your busy schedule this year, find that work-life balance, reignite your passions, and let your creative juices flow. And, if any budding writers out there need a little extra incentive, Seak, Inc. is sponsoring a Fiction Writing Competition for Physicians and Lawyers that will be awarding cash prizes and the opportunity to get on the radar of New York Literary Agents. Before you know it, you could be one of CBA-CLE’s featured authors, signing copies of your book at our annual reception and signing with local attorney-writers.

The purpose of the competition is to encourage physicians and lawyers to become more interested in and adept at writing fiction. The lawyers showed their prowess against the physicians in last year’s Courage Classic, so let’s continue the momentum. Whether you’re an active creative writer or have always just though about someday penning a story, procrastinate no more: this is the time to make it happen!


A short story or novel excerpt in the fiction genre should be submitted. The submission should be typed and not exceed 2,500 words. (This will be strictly enforced).


August 1, 2012


The submissions will be judged on originality, quality of writing, and the potential of the author.


(Please do not send certified mail)

SEAK, Inc. —Fiction Writing Competition

ATTN: Steven Babitsky

P.O. Box 729

Falmouth, MA 02541


  1. The competition is open to any licensed physician or attorney in the United States and its territories.
  2. The physician or attorney’s name, address, phone number, and e-mail address should be contained in the submission.
  3. Only entries received by SEAK, Inc. on or before August 1, 2012, will be considered.
  4. Only one entry should be submitted by each physician or attorney.


(Prize winners will be notified by email)

A press release announcing your award will be sent to New York Literary Agents.





All authors will maintain the original copyright to their materials.

Also, the Fiction Writing Conference for Physicians and Lawyers will be held on August 11-12, 2012 on Cape Cod, Massachusetts.

Speakers include: Peter Abrahams, William Bernhardt, JT Ellison, Rebecca Forster, Jane Friedman, Gary Goshgarian, James Grippando, John Hart, Steven James, Peter James, Daniel Kalla, D.P. Lyle, Robert Miller, Ross Pennie, Nancy Pickard, Ken Sherman, and Sheldon Siegel.

This year’s conference also features four pre-conferences on August 9-10, 2012.

Click here for more information, or contact Steven Babitsky, Esq., President, Seak, Inc. at (508) 548-9443, via email at STEVENBABITSKY@SEAK.COM.

Gary M. Jackson to Receive Colorado Bar’s Highest Honor

Gary M. Jackson will be honored with the Colorado Bar Association’s highest honor, the Award of Merit, on Friday, Jan. 6.

Jackson is a founding member and former president of the Sam Cary Bar Association, an African-American legal association, as well as the Sam Cary Scholarship Endowment Fund, which provides scholarships to law students at the University of Colorado and the University of Denver. He likewise helped found the Colorado Criminal Defense Bar, and was the 2010 Colorado Chapter President of the American Board of Trial Advocates.

He has also served his larger community. He chairs the Delta Eta Boule Foundation, which provides scholarships to Denver high school graduates. As an advocate for youth, he has chaired Northeast Denver Youth Services, which offers recreational and educational opportunities. He also has been involved with the Urban League of Metropolitan Denver, the United Negro College Fund, the Cleo Parker Robinson Dance Ensemble, 100 Black Men of Denver, Inc., Beckwourth Outdoors, and the Sixteenth of May Foundation.

Jackson has been a partner at DiManna & Jackson since 1976, focusing his practice on complex civil litigation and representation of legal professionals. He started his career in 1970 in the Denver District Attorney’s Office. He later served as Assistant U.S. Attorney for the District of Colorado and received a commendation from the Hon. Edward Levi for trial excellence.

“I’m honored to receive the Award of Merit,” Jackson said. “It has been important to me to serve my community in any way I can, and it is gratifying to see that work be recognized.”

Jackson has given of his time at the Bar Associations, as well. He’s served as CBA Vice President and on the DBA’s Board of Trustees. He has chaired the Colorado and Denver Bar joint Minorities in the Profession Committee, which is now known as the Diversity in the Legal Profession Committee. He is a member of the Peer Professional Assistance Group and is a Colorado Bar Foundation Fellow.

“We at the Bar Association are thankful for his service, not just to our organization, but to the entire community,” said CBA President David L. Masters. “Gary is always eager to lend a helping hand and is an inspiration to all of us.”

He has been honored in the past by the Sam Cary Bar Association with King Trimble Life Time Achievement Award in 2006, and by the University of Colorado with the Merle Knous Award in 2010, the Norlin Award in 2008, and the Order of Coif Award in 2003.

The CBA Award of Merit is given annually to a member for outstanding service to the association, the legal profession, the administration of justice, and the community. Jackson and CBA Young Lawyers Division’s Gary L. McPherson Outstanding Young Lawyer of the Year honoree Kara Veitch will be honored at the Colorado Bar Foundation’s Annual Bar Fellows Dinner on Friday, Jan. 6, at the Hyatt Regency Denver.

Colorado Supreme Court: Week of January 1, 2012 (No Opinions)

The Colorado Supreme Court issued no opinions for the week of January 1, 2012.