August 15, 2018

HB 12-1317: Creation of Parks and Wildlife Commission to Replace Parks and Wildlife Board; Members to be Appointed by Governor

On February 23, 2012, Rep. Jerry Sonnenberg and Sen. Gail Schwartz introduced HB 12-1317 – Concerning the Creation of the Parks and Wildlife Commission to Replace the Parks and Wildlife Board in the Department of Natural Resources, and, In Connection Therewith, Describing the Composition and Terms of the Commission. This summary is published here courtesy of the Colorado Bar Association’s e-Legislative Report.

Senate Bill 11–208 combined the wildlife entities and parks and outdoor recreation entities and functions under the Department of Natural Resources. In so doing, the existing wildlife commission was merged with the existing board of parks and outdoor recreation to form the 16-member parks and wildlife board.

Effective July 1, 2012, the bill replaces the board of parks and outdoor recreation with the new parks and wildlife commission. The commission is comprised of 11 voting members and 2 nonvoting ex officio members (the executive director of the department and the commissioner of the department of agriculture). The voting members are appointed by the governor with the consent of the senate and must represent various geographical regions in the state and certain areas of interest or knowledge. Initial term lengths are staggered to reduce the impact to the board that results from member turnover. The commission is required to submit a five-year strategic plan to specified committees of reference. Components of the plan are specified. On March 23 the Appropriations Committee amended the bill and referred it to the house for consideration on 2nd Reading.

Summaries of other featured bills can be found here.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Speak Your Mind