July 15, 2019

Hon. R. Michael Mullins to Retire and Hon. Ann Frick to Resign from Second Judicial District Court

On Monday, January 25, 2016, the Colorado State Judicial Branch announced that Hon. R. Michael Mullins will retire from the Second Judicial District Court, effective July 1, 2016, and Hon. Ann Frick will resign from that court, effective July 1, 2016.

Judge Mullins was appointed to the district court bench in 1990. Prior to his appointment, he practiced in the litigation section of the Colorado Attorney General’s Office and was a trial attorney in the Denver Office of the Colorado State Public Defender. He was also an attorney in private practice, specializing in criminal, administrative, and workers’ compensation law. He received his undergraduate degree from St. Louis University and his law degree from the University of Colorado Law School.

Judge Frick was appointed to the district court bench in June 2010. Prior to her appointment, she spent several years at the boutique firm, Kelly, Haglund, Garnsey & Kahn, and also worked at Holme Roberts Owen (now Bryan Cave) and the Denver District Attorney’s Office. She also was a founder and name partner of the Jacobs Chase firm, where she practiced complex business and real estate litigation.

Applications are now being accepted for the vacancies. Eligible applicants must be qualified electors of the Second Judicial District and must have been admitted to practice law in Colorado for five years. Application forms are available on the State Judicial website and are also available from the ex officio chair of the Second Judicial District Nominating Commission, Justice Monica Marquez. Applications must be received no later than 4 p.m. on March 8, 2016. Anyone wishing to nominate another person must do so in writing no later than 4 p.m. on March 1, 2016.

For more information about the vacancies, click here.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email


  1. ERIC HIGH says:

    Judge R. Michael Mullins is an excellent Judge.


  1. […] to the Second Judicial District Court. Grant and Torrington will fill vacancies created by the retirement of Hon. R. Michael Mullins and the resignation of Hon. Ann B. Frick, effective July 1, […]

Speak Your Mind