July 16, 2019

Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals to Hold Ceremony Dedicating Oklahoma City Courthouse to Judge Holloway

holloway1On February 2, 2016, the Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals announced that it will hold a ceremony on February 12, 2016, to dedicate the federal courthouse in Oklahoma City to Judge William J. Holloway, Jr. The ceremony will be held at 2 p.m. in the ceremonial courtroom.

Judge Holloway was the longest sitting judge on the Tenth Circuit. He passed away in April 2014 at the age of 90. He was born in Oklahoma and served in the U.S. Army during World War II. He received his undergraduate degree from the University of Oklahoma and his law degree from Harvard Law School. He worked both as an attorney in private practice and for the U.S. Department of Justice before his appointment to the Tenth Circuit in 1968 by President Lyndon B. Johnson. He served on the Tenth Circuit for more than 45 years and was Chief Judge from 1984 to 1991.

In January 2015, U.S. Senator Jim Inhofe of Oklahoma, introduced legislation proposing to change the name of the federal courthouse in Oklahoma City to honor Judge Holloway.  Senate Bill 261 was signed into law by President Obama on October 5, 2015.

For more information about the dedication ceremony, click here.

Hon. Timothy Tymkovich Named New Chief Judge of Tenth Circuit

On Monday, July 27, 2015, the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit announced that Hon. Mary Beck Briscoe will step down as Chief Judge, effective September 30, 2015, with Judge Timothy Tymkovich taking her place as chief. Judge Briscoe was appointed to the Tenth Circuit in 1995, and became Chief Judge since 2010. She will remain an active judge on the Tenth Circuit after stepping down as Chief Judge.

Judge Tymkovich was appointed to the Tenth Circuit in 2003. Prior to his appointment, he was in private practice in Denver, where he specialized in civil and constitutional matters ranging from election law to water law. He was Solicitor General for the Colorado Office of the Attorney General from 1991 to 1996 and clerked for Hon. William H. Erickson from 1982 to 1983. He received his law degree from the University of Colorado and his undergraduate degree from Colorado College.