July 15, 2019

Nominees Selected for District Court Vacancies in Second and Eighth Judicial Districts

On Tuesday, November 12, 2013, the Colorado State Judicial Branch announced the selection of three nominees for the vacancy on the Eighth Judicial District Court. Under the Colorado Constitution, the governor has 15 days from November 12 in which to appoint a nominee. The vacancy will be created by the December 19, 2013, retirement of Hon. Dave Williams.

The three nominees are C. Michelle Brinegar, John A. Jostad, and Randall C. Lococo. All three nominees are from Fort Collins. Contact information for the nominees is available on the State Judicial website.

State Judicial announced three nominees for the vacancy on the Denver Juvenile Court on Thursday, November 14, 2013. The vacancy became effective November 4, upon the appointment of Hon. Karen Ashby to the Colorado Court of Appeals.

The three nominees for the Denver Juvenile Court are Laura A. Clark, Andrea L. Eddy, and Susan L. Street, all of Denver. Contact information for these nominees is also available on the State Judicial website. Governor Hickenlooper has 15 days from November 15, 2013, in which to appoint a nominee to the Denver Juvenile Court bench.

Finalists Selected to Fill New Judgeship in Eighth Judicial District

The Eighth Judicial District Nominating Commission has nominated three candidates for a district court judgeship created pursuant to HB 07-1054, effective January 1, 2011. The post will serve Jackson and Larimer counties.

Nominees for the bench are Julie Kunce Fields, Thomas Ray French, and John A. Jostad. All three reside in Fort Collins and were selected by the commission on November 12, 2010.

Under the Colorado Constitution, Governor Ritter has until November 30, 2010 to appoint one of the nominees as district court judge for the Eighth Judicial District.

Eighth District Court Judge Rex A. Shaw to Retire in 2011

Judge Rex A. Shaw will retire from the Jackson County Court bench, part of the Eighth Judicial District in Colorado, on February 9, 2011.

The Eighth Judicial District Nominating Commission will convene on Monday, December 6, 2010 to interview and select nominees for appointment by the governor to the office of county judge for Jackson County.

Information regarding eligibility and applying to fill the vacancy can be found in the Colorado Judicial Branch press release.

Update: Eighth Judicial District’s Dispute Resolution Office Changes Mediation Cancellation Policy

Effective May 12, the state Office of Dispute Resolution for the Eighth Judicial District (Larimer County) changed its mediation cancellation policy to match that of the rest of Colorado.

The statewide policy for cancelling participation in mediation proceedings without penalty is seven days for both civil and domestic cases. Prior to May 12, Larimer County, however, operated under a three-day cancellation policy for domestic relations cases and a seven-day policy for civil cases. The policy conflicted with statewide practices, leading to confusion.

The penalty for failing to cancel a domestic mediation within the seven-day period is $120. The penalty for civil cases is $150.