June 19, 2019

Governor Hickenlooper Announces Appointment to Sixteenth Judicial District Nominating Commission

On Monday, January 28, 2013, Governor John Hickenlooper announced an appointment to the Sixteenth Judicial District Nominating Commission. Nathan Shultz of La Junta was appointed to serve as an attorney and a Republican from Otero County. His appointment is effective until December 31, 2018. Mr. Shultz will replace Philip Palmer of La Junta, who resigned.

Each of Colorado’s 22 judicial districts has a nominating commission comprised of seven members who reside in the district. No more than four members can be from the same political party, and each county in the district must have at least one resident representative. In districts in which the population is over 35,000, three of the members of the nominating commission must be attorneys admitted to practice law in Colorado, and the other four may not be admitted to practice law.


Finalists Selected for Sixteenth Judicial District Court Bench

On Tuesday, December 11, 2012, the Sixteenth Judicial District Nominating Commission announced its selection of three finalists to fill a vacancy on the Sixteenth Judicial District Court bench. The vacancy is created by the retirement of the Honorable Jon Kolomitz, effective February 2, 2013.

The nominees are William Judson Culver, of Rocky Ford; Rodney D. Fouracre, Sr., of La Junta; and Mark Andrew MacDowell, of Las Animas. The nominees were selected by the commission on December 10, 2012.

Under the Colorado Constitution, the governor has 15 days from December 11, 2012 in which to appoint one of the nominees to the bench in the Sixteenth Judicial District. Comments regarding any of the nominees can be submitted to the governor via email at judicial.appointments@state.co.us. Contact information for the nominees can be found here.

The Honorable M. Jon Kolomitz to Retire from Sixteenth Judicial District Court Bench

The Sixteenth Judicial District Nominating Commission will meet on Monday, December 10, 2012 to interview and select nominees for appointment by Governor Hickenlooper to the bench of the district court in the Sixteenth Judicial District. The Sixteenth Judicial District comprises Bent, Otero, and Crowley counties. The vacancy will be created by the retirement of the Honorable M. Jon Kolomitz.

Judge M. Jon Kolomitz was appointed to the District Court bench on February 1, 1985. He became Chief Judge of the Sixteenth Judicial District in July 1988. As the Chief Judge, Judge Kolomitz performs administrative duties overseeing court administration within the District. These administrative duties are in addition to his primary duties as a trial judge. As a District Judge, Judge Kolomitz hears felony criminal, domestic relations (including Dependency and Neglect cases), probate, mental health and civil cases.

Eligible applicants to fill the vacancy must be qualified electors of the Sixteenth Judicial District, and must have been admitted to the practice of law in Colorado for five years. Applications are available from the ex officio chair of the nominating commission, Justice Brian Boatright, and also from the office of the district administrator and the State Judicial website. Applications must be submitted no later than 4 p.m. on November 27, 2012.

Further information about the vacancy is available here from the Colorado State Judicial Branch.