July 15, 2019

Governor Hickenlooper Appoints Deganhart to Seventh Judicial District Bench

On Thursday, July 14, 2011, Governor John Hickenlooper announced the appointment of Mary Deganhart to serve as the new district court judge in the Seventh Judicial District, which serves Gunnison, Delta, Montrose, San Miguel, Ouray, and Hinsdale counties. She will fill the judgeship created pursuant to SB 11-028; her appointment is effective July 1.

Deganhart, of Ridgway, is the Ouray County Attorney, where she has served since 2006. She represents the Board of County Commissioners at all public hearings and in litigation involving contracts, bonds, road disputes, and appeals of the Board’s quasi-judicial actions, including appeals of judicial decisions.

Deganhart was in private practice starting in 1985 and had her own law firm from 1993 through 2006 in Pagosa Springs. Her private practice had a significant emphasis on real estate and related matters. She also worked as a contract attorney for Archuleta County from 2000 through 2005.

Deganhart earned a bachelor’s degree from Lake Forest College near Chicago and her law degree from the University of Denver.

Finalists Selected to Fill Judgeship in Seventh Judicial District

The Seventh Judicial District Nominating Commission has nominated three candidates for a district court judgeship created by the passage of SB 11-028, effective July 1, 2011.

Nominees for the bench are Peter Bogardus, Jr., of Crested Butte, Mary Deganhart, of Ridgway, and Marcus Lock, of Gunnison. All were selected by the commission on June 27, 2011.

Under the Colorado Constitution, Governor Hickenlooper has until July 13 to appoint one of the nominees as district court judge for the Seventh Judicial District, which serves Delta, Gunnison, Hinsdale, Montrose, Ouray, and San Miguel counties.

Comments regarding any of the nominees can be emailed to the Governor’s office.

Governor Hickenlooper Signs Ten More Bills into Law

At the end of last week, Governor John Hickenlooper signed ten bills into law. The bills were the third group to emerge from the 2011 General Assembly.

  • HB 11-1011
    • Sponsored by Rep. Peniston and Sen. Giron. Participation of additional individuals in proceedings pending before the Board of Assessment Appeals.
  • HB 11-1018
    • Sponsored by Rep. Tyler and Sen. S. King. Regulating the conditions under which court documents may be transferred electronically.
  • HB 11-1021
    • Sponsored by Rep. Todd and Sen. Steadman. Approval for the fiscal year of the Colorado Channel Authority.
  • HB 11-1028
    • Sponsored by Rep. Liston and Sens. Johnston and Newell. Voluntary contribution designation benefitting the Alzheimer’s Association Fund to appear on individual income tax return forms.
  • HB 11-1041
    • Sponsored by Rep. Reisberg and Sen. Harvey. Updating Colorado Guaranty Insurance Association Policies.
  • HB 11-1051
    • Sponsored by Rep. Swerdfeger and Sen. S. King. DNA sample expungement is never available for a felony convict.
  • HB 11-1087
    • Sponsored by Rep. Vigil and Sen. Giron. Reimbursement to county governments for charges incurred in pest control operations.
  • HB 11-1110
    • Sponsored by Rep. Acree and Sen. Harvey. Rights of members of Nonprofit Corporations in which residency is qualification for membership.
  • HB 11-1113
    • Sponsored by Rep. Holbert and Sen. Foster. Provision of information pertaining to impact fees imposed by local governments.
  • SB 11-028
    • Sponsored by Sen. Schwartz and Rep. Coram. Approving the addition and total number of judges for District Seven.

For a complete list of Governor Hickenlooper’s 2011 legislation decisions click here.

Judgeship Updates: Week of March 6, 2010

On Wednesday, March 9, 2011, President Barack Obama nominated former Kansas Attorney General Steve Six to the Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals in Denver. Six will succeed Deanell Tacha, who is stepping down from the bench to assume the position as Pepperdine University’s dean of law.

Steve Six has worked as a partner at the law firm at Stevens & Brand since January of this year.  Previously, Six served as the Attorney General of Kansas, a position to which he was appointed in 2008. . . . Before becoming attorney general, Six served as a state district court judge from 2005 to 2008, hearing both civil and criminal cases.  From 1994 to 2005, Six worked at the Kansas City law firm of Shamberg, Johnson & Bergman, first as a litigation associate from 1994 to 1998 and later as a partner from 1998 to 2005.  From 1993 to 1994, he served as a judicial law clerk to Judge Deanell R. Tacha of the United States Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit.  He received his J.D. in 1993 from the University of Kansas School of Law, graduating second in his class.

On Friday, March 11, 2011, Governor John Hickenlooper signed a bill that adds a district judgeship in the western slope’s Seventh Judicial District, which serves Delta, Gunnison, Hinsdale, Montrose, Ouray, and San Miguel counties. SB 11-028 transfers the judgeship west, eliminating it as a vacant district judgeship in the First Judicial District, which serves Jefferson and Gilpin counties. The bill was sponsored by legislators from the western slope, and agreed to by the First Judicial District.